Radiohead’s Hail to the Thief released 9 years ago today

Nine years ago today Radiohead released Hail To The ThiefHail To The Thief was produced by Nigel Godrich and is Radiohead’s sixth studio album.  The Album was recorded at the Ocean Way Recording studios in Hollywood, California in September 2002.  At almost an hour in length (56:35), it’s the bands longest album.

Tracklisting for Hail To The Thief :

  1. 2 + 2 = 5 (The Lukewarm.)
  2. Sit down. Stand up. (Snakes & Ladders.)
  3. Sail to the Moon. (Brush the Cobwebs out of the Sky.)
  4. Backdrifts. (Honeymoon is Over.)
  5. Go to Sleep. (Little Man being Erased.)
  6. Where I End and You Begin. (The Sky is Falling in.)
  7. We suck Young Blood. (Your Time is up.)
  8. The Gloaming. (Softly Open our Mouths in the Cold.)
  9. There There. (The Boney King of Nowhere.)
  10. I Will. (No man’s Land.)
  11. A Punchup at a Wedding. (No no no no no no no no.)
  12. Myxomatosis. (Judge, Jury & Executioner.)
  13. Scatterbrain. (As Dead as Leaves.)
  14. A Wolf at the Door. (It Girl. Rag Doll.)

Listen to Hail To The Thief:

Thom and Ed discuss Hail To The Thief and Nigel Godrich:

Full band interview on Hail To The Thief:

The record also marked the last full length studio recorded album on the Parlophone Records label.  It features a very eclectic group of songs spanning a wide array of various styles and flavors. From the chaotic blast of 2+2=5 to the painfully bluesy  4 on the floor composition “a punch up at a wedding” to the intricate beauty of “scatterbrain” it is a record to be celebrated on this day.

The album also spawned the beginning of our sinister friend Chieftan Mews.

(Thanks Brian for helping contribute to this post!)